Nov 3, 2017 - Nov 5, 2017

Markus Stenz, conductor
Karen Gomyo, violin

WAGNER Siegfried Idyll
SIBELIUS Violin Conerto in D minor, Op. 47
MOZART Symphony No. 41 in C major, K. 551, "Jupiter"

This convivial concert brims with music as a celebration of life. Mozart’s final Symphony No. 41 — also known as “Jupiter” — is jubilant and vibrantly atmospheric, and was deemed by Woody Allen as something that makes “life worth living.” Wagner drew upon birdsong and sunrise to honor the birth of his son and namesake of the bucolic Siegfried Idyll, which is followed by violinist Karen Gomyo glorifying Sibelius’ decadent and gleaming Violin Concerto in D minor.