On the Beautiful Blue Danube

Apr 21, 2017 - Apr 22, 2017

Kevin John Edusei, conductor
Gabriel Preisser, narrator

J. STRAUSS On the Beautiful Blue Danube, Op. 314
H.K. GRUBER Frankenstein!!
BRAHMS Piano Quartet in G minor, Op. 25

A wonderfully eclectic and offbeat program built around Heinz Karl Gruber's indescribable 1978 work, Frankenstein!! which includes musicians inflating and popping paper bags as Gabriel Preisser narrates. Gruber pulls out all of the stops, and Preisser's baritone -- which anchored the Symphony's 2014-15 production of The Music Man -- likewise underpins this contemporary work laced with dark humor and unpredictability. The program provides a contrasting lead-in to Frankenstein!! with Johann Strauss, Jr.'s instantly recognizable waltz, The Blue Danube, and ends with the lush Brahms-Schoenberg Piano Quartet.