Rachmaninoff Performed by Olga Kern

Feb 3, 2017 - Feb 4, 2017

Andrew Litton, conductor

Olga Kern, piano

RACHMANINOFF Piano Concerto No. 1 in F-sharp minor, Op. 1

SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 7 in C major, Op. 60, "Leningrad"

Colorado Symphony Music Director Andrew Litton conducts piano sensation Olga Kern, known as a master of Rachmaninoff. For her 2016 return to Denver, she takes on Piano Concerto No. 1, Shostakovich's Symphony No. 7 concludes the all-Russian program: The imposing piece is one of its composer's best-known works, a 75-minute orchestral commentary on the German siege of Leningrad in World War II. After the invasion theme of the first movement, the score moves into a requiem dirge, followed by an even more sorrowful phase -- "After the requiem comes an even more tragic episode," Shostakovich explained. "I do not know how to characterize that music" -- and a thunderous finale that's anything but joyous.