Symphonic Firsts Conducted by Mark Wigglesworth

Jan 20, 2017 - Jan 21, 2017

Mark Wigglesworth, conductor

MOZART Symphony No. 1 in E-flat major, K. 16

SCHUBERT Symphony No. 1 in D major, D. 82

BRAHMS Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 68

Renowned conductor Mark Wigglesworth takes the Colorado Symphony on a music history journey that veers around Europe with three first efforts from emerging masters. The program commences with Mozart's Symphony No. 1 -- which Wolfgang Amadeus wrote when he was all of eight years old. Franz Schubert's first symphony was written when he was 16, marked by soaring trumpets and a pronounced maturity. In contrast, Johannes Brahms said he spent 21 years writing his Symphony No. 1, which he finished in 1876, when he was 43. The notorious perfectionist took 14 years to develop the structure then accelerated his writing velocity to the premiere, eight years later.