Special Alert
add this add this
Nov 4 2016 - Nov 5 2016

Adagio for Strings & Augustin Hadelich


Courtney Lewis, conductor
Augustin Hadelich, violin

BARBER Symphony No. 1, Op. 9
BRITTEN Violin Concerto, Op. 15
BARBER Adagio for Strings
ELGAR In the South, Op. 50

For the follow-up to his 2015 debut with the Colorado Symphony, guest conductor Courtney Lewis leads the Symphony and Augustin Hadelich, one of the top young violinists, through a program of 20th century works that crosses the Atlantic at the midway point. The first two works by American composer Samuel Barber -- Adagio for Strings and Symphony No. 1, or Symphony in One Movement -- are high points of his early career, and the former is known for its emotive effect on audiences. (Writer Alexander Morin says it "rarely leaves a dry eye.") The second part of the presentation hops the pond to a pair of works with British origins: Benjamin Britten's Violin Concerto and Edward Elgar's In the South, written during a winter holiday in Italy.

Loading Map
Free Visitors Guide
Order the Official Denver Visitors Guide.
It's Free!
1555 California St, Suite 300 | Denver, CO 80202 | 1-800-233-6837 | (303) 892-1112
2016 VISIT DENVER, The Convention & Visitors Bureau. All rights reserved.