Special Alert
add this add this
Feb 3 2017 - Feb 4 2017

Rachmaninoff Performed by Olga Kern


Andrew Litton, conductor
Olga Kern, piano

RACHMANINOFF Piano Concerto No. 1 in F-sharp minor, Op. 1
SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 7 in C major, Op. 60, "Leningrad"

Colorado Symphony Music Director Andrew Litton conducts piano sensation Olga Kern, known as a master of Rachmaninoff. For her 2016 return to Denver, she takes on Piano Concerto No. 1, Shostakovich's Symphony No. 7 concludes the all-Russian program: The imposing piece is one of its composer's best-known works, a 75-minute orchestral commentary on the German siege of Leningrad in World War II. After the invasion theme of the first movement, the score moves into a requiem dirge, followed by an even more sorrowful phase -- "After the requiem comes an even more tragic episode," Shostakovich explained. "I do not know how to characterize that music" -- and a thunderous finale that's anything but joyous.

Loading Map
Free Visitors Guide
Order the Official Denver Visitors Guide.
It's Free!
1555 California St, Suite 300 | Denver, CO 80202 | 1-800-233-6837 | (303) 892-1112
2016 VISIT DENVER, The Convention & Visitors Bureau. All rights reserved.