Special Alert
add this add this
Jan 20 2017 - Jan 21 2017

Symphonic Firsts Conducted by Mark Wigglesworth


Mark Wigglesworth, conductor

MOZART Symphony No. 1 in E-flat major, K. 16
SCHUBERT Symphony No. 1 in D major, D. 82
BRAHMS Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 68

Renowned conductor Mark Wigglesworth takes the Colorado Symphony on a music history journey that veers around Europe with three first efforts from emerging masters. The program commences with Mozart's Symphony No. 1 -- which Wolfgang Amadeus wrote when he was all of eight years old. Franz Schubert's first symphony was written when he was 16, marked by soaring trumpets and a pronounced maturity. In contrast, Johannes Brahms said he spent 21 years writing his Symphony No. 1, which he finished in 1876, when he was 43. The notorious perfectionist took 14 years to develop the structure then accelerated his writing velocity to the premiere, eight years later.

Loading Map
Free Visitors Guide
Order the Official Denver Visitors Guide.
It's Free!
1555 California St, Suite 300 | Denver, CO 80202 | 1-800-233-6837 | (303) 892-1112
2016 VISIT DENVER, The Convention & Visitors Bureau. All rights reserved.