Summertime in Denver is all about the outdoors. Denverites spend these months making the most of the plentiful sunshine and copious fresh air — hiking, biking and enjoying a host of live music extravaganzas.

RED ROCKS PARK & AMPHITHEATRE 

WHEN: May–September
No summer in Denver is complete without at least one — or two, or five — trips to the awe-inspiring Red Rocks Amphitheatre, just 15 miles from downtown Denver. More than 70 million years in the making, the 9,450-seat venue is flanked by enormous 300-foot red sandstone rock formations and always boasts a star-studded musical schedule.

Highlights of the 2018 lineup:

May

  • Fri., May 25: The Devil Makes Three with The Wood Brother and Murder by Death
  • Mon., May 28: Haim with Maggie Rogers and Lizzo
  • Tues., May 29: Five Finger Death Punch with Of Mice & Men
  • Wed., May 30: Vance Joy with Alice Merton

 

June

  • Fri., June 1: Michael Franti & Spearhead with Xavier Rudd and Victoria Canal
  • Sun., June 3: Marshmello
  • Tues., June 5: Ween
  • Sun., June 10: John Butler Trio with Tash Sultana and Mama Kin Spender
  • Tues., June 12: Bryan Adams
  • Thurs., June 14: Ryan Adams with First Aid Kit
  • Fri.–Sat., June 15–16: Odesza
  • Tues., June 19: Barenaked Ladies with Better Than Ezra and KT Tunstall
  • Wed., June 20: Kaleo with Anderson East
  • Thurs., June 28: Chromeo and The Glitch Mob with Elohim and Kittens
  • Fri.–Sun., June 29–July 1: The Avett Brothers with David Crosby, Mandolin Orange and Jill Andrews

 

July

  • Mon.–Tues., July 2–3: Zeds Dead with Russo
  • Wed., July 4: Blues Traveler with G. Love & the Special Sauce and The Wailers
  • Thurs.–Sat., July 5–7: Umphrey's McGee
  • Thurs., July 12: moe.
  • Sun., July 15: Seal with The Colorado Symphony and Corinne Bailey Rae
  • Wed., July 18: Sylvan Esso
  • Thurs., July 19: Trampled by Turtles with The Oh Hellos and Dead Horses
  • Fri.–Sun., July 20–22: The String Cheese Incident with JJ Grey & Mofro, The Main Squeeze and Rising Appalachia
  • Thurs., July 26: Sarah McLachlan with The Colorado Symphony
  • Fri., July 27: Beats Antique and The Polish Ambassador & The Diplomatic Scandal

 

August

  • Fri., Aug. 3: Lucero and Frank Turner & The Sleeping Souls with Face to Face
  • Sat., Aug. 4: Yonder Mountain String Band & The Infamous Stringdusters with The Earls of Leicester and Horseshoes & Hand Grenades
  • Mon., Aug. 6: Steve Martin and Martin Short
  • Wed., Aug. 8: Portugal .The Man with Oh Sees
  • Sun., Aug. 12: Brandi Carlile with Shovels & Rope and The Secret Sisters
  • Mon., Aug. 20: Niall Horan with Maren Morris
  • Wed.–Thurs., Aug. 22–23: Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats with Tank and The Bangas and Slim Cessna's Auto Club
  • Mon.–Tues., Aug. 27–28: David Byrne
  • Thurs., Aug. 30: Shakey Graves, Jose Gonzalez & The Brite Lites with Twin Peaks

 

September

  • Sun., Sept. 2: Jason Mraz with Brett Dennen
  • Mon., Sept. 3: Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit with Aimee Mann and Amanda Shires
  • Sun., Sept. 9: O.A.R. with Matt Nathanson
  • Mon., Sept. 10: Mac DeMarco
  • Mon., Sept. 17: Punch Brothers & Gillian Welch
  • Sun., Sept. 30: Gregory Alan Isakov with Patty Griffin

 

PEPSI CENTER

WHEN: Year-round
Rock, pop and country's biggest stars often make a stop at Pepsi Center — a major sports arena that's right in the heart of the city. When the center isn't hosting basketball's Denver Nuggets, hockey's Colorado Avalanche or lacrosse's Colorado Mammoth, you can catch killer music acts here year round.

A few highlights of the 2018 lineup:

  • Tues., June 12: Steely Dan & The Doobie Brothers
  • Sun., June 17: Kesha and Macklemore
  • Wed., June 20: Chicago and REO Speedwagon
  • Tues., July 3: Harry Styles with Kacey Musgraves
  • Tues., July 24: Foreigner with Whitesnake and Jason Bonham's Led Zeppelin Evening
  • Fri., July 27: Shania Twain
  • Wed., Aug. 8: Jeff Lynne's ELO
  • Fri., Aug 10: Chris Stapleton
  • Tues., Aug. 21: Sam Smith
  • Wed., Aug. 22: Rod Stewart with Cyndi Lauper
  • Wed., Sept. 5: The Smashing Pumpkins
  • Fri.–Sat., Sept. 7–8: Bruno Mars with Cardi B
  • Sun., Sept. 9: Maroon 5 with Julia Michaels

 

SPORTS AUTHORITY FIELD AT MILE HIGH

WHEN: May–June
In town during summer but still want to get a peek at the Denver Broncos' famed home stadium? A summer concert at Sports Authority Field at Mile High might be just the ticket. Big-name acts take to the open-air stage as music carries on the Colorado breeze above the storied gridiron for a concert experience you won't forget.

A few highlights of the 2018 lineup:

  • Fri., May 25: Taylor Swift
  • Sat., June 30: Kenny Chesney with Thomas Rhett, Old Dominion and Brandon Lay
  • Sat., Aug. 4: Luke Bryan with Sam Hunt, Jon Pardi and Morgan Wallen

 

COORS FIELD

WHEN: June–July
Summer is baseball season, but when the Colorado Rockies are away, the musicians will play — at Coors Field

A few highlights of the 2018 lineup:

  • Thurs., June 28: Eagles with Jimmy Buffett and The Coral Reefer Band
  • Sat., July 21: Def Leppard and Journey

 

DENVER BOTANIC GARDENS

WHEN: June–September
Denver Botanic Gardens is a lush oasis located in the heart of The Mile High City, with hundreds of rare and lovely species of plants populating the grounds. But it's also home to a stellar summer concert series. The lawns surrounding the stage are general admission, so bring a blanket or lawn chair along with a bottle of wine and a picnic dinner and enjoy the great music in an unparalleled setting. Word to the wise: virtually all Botanic Gardens concerts sell out — so get your tickets early! 

A few highlights of the 2018 lineup:

  • Mon., June 11: Violent Femmes
  • Fri., June 22: Mary Chapin Carpenter
  • Mon., June 25: The Milk Carton Kids
  • Wed., June 27: Chris Botti
  • Mon., July 9: The Mavericks
  • Mon.–Tues., July 23–24: TajMo: The Taj Mahal and Keb' Mo' Band
  • Wed., July 25: Melissa Etheridge
  • Fri., July 27: Chaka Khan
  • Sun., July 29: Guster
  • Wed., Aug. 1: Amos Lee
  • Wed., Aug. 8: Bruce Hornsby & The Noisemakers
  • Thurs., Aug. 9: Angelique Kidjo's Remain In Light and Femi Kuti & The Positive Force
  • Wed., Aug. 15: Gipsy Kings

 

DICK'S SPORTING GOODS PARK

WHEN: Fri.–Sun., Aug. 31–Sept. 2, 2018
Jam out to three days of Phish at Dick's Sporting Goods Park. It's a Denver tradition! 

CITY PARK

WHEN: June–early August, Sun., 6–8 p.m.
The City Park Bandstand and Pavilion turns into a swinging, open-air jazz club, as music lovers of all ages congregate for City Park Jazz. Bring a blanket or folding chair—but be prepared to spend plenty of time on your feet, too. City Park Jazz encourages dancing. Best of all, these concerts are free.

A few highlights of the 2018 lineup:

  • Sun., June 3: Jyemo Club
  • Sun., June 10: Katie Glassman & Snapshot
  • Sun., June 17: Hazel Miller with Harmony Chorale and Badda Boom Brass Band
  • Sun., June 24: Paa Kow
  • Sun., July 1: Eufórquestra
  • Sun., July 8: La Pompe Jazz & Friends
  • Sun., July 15: Pat Bianchi Trio
  • Sun., July 22: Mistura Fina Band
  • Sun., July 29: The Sammy Mayfield Blues Band
  • Sun., Aug. 5: Chris Daniels & the Kings with Freddi Gowdy and Tivoli Brass Band

 

ELITCH GARDENS THEME & WATER PARK

WHEN: June–August
Elitch Gardens Theme & Water Park is not only a great, family-friendly attraction with roller coasters, water slides and more — it also offers an excellent concert series. All concerts are free with admission to the park. 

Check back later for more of the summer 2018 lineup.

  • Sat., June 2: Chris Lane with Dylan Scott
  • Sat., June 9: Jack & Jack
  • Sun., June 17: Banda El Recodo
  • Sat., June 30: Why Don't We
  • Sat., July 14: Colton Dixon & Sidewalk Prophets
  • Sat., July 21: Jacob Sartorius
  • Sun., July 29: La Septima Banda
  • Sat., Aug. 4: Switchfoot

 

LEVITT PAVILION

WHEN: May–August
The Levitt Pavilion is a new, state-of-the-art amphitheater in Ruby Hill Park that was created as a gift to the community. This outdoor venue plans to host a slew of free concerts every summer, and a few ticketed events, too. Bring a blanket and a picnic, kick back on the lawn and enjoy artists from a wide range of genres.

A few highlights of the 2018 lineup:

  • Sat., May 26: The Fab Four — Ultimate Beatles Tribute with Morgan James (ticketed)
  • Sat., June 2: Alan Parsons — Eye in the Sky 35th Anniversary Tour (ticketed)
  • Fri., June 22: Home Free (ticketed)
  • Fri., July 27: Robert Earle Keen (ticketed)
  • Sat., Aug. 4: War & Tower of Power with Megan Burtt (ticketed)
  • Fri., Aug. 24: ABBA The Concert: A Tribute to ABBA (ticketed)
  • Mon., Sept. 3: YES 50th Anniversary Tour Featuring Joe Anderson, Trevor Rabin, Rick Wakeman

 

FIDDLER'S GREEN AMPHITHEATRE

WHEN: May–September
Grab a blanket and take a seat on the lawn or buy a reserved seat at this beautiful venue just south of Denver in Greenwood Village. Fiddler's Green Amphitheatre has a variety of acts coming up this spring and summer.

A few highlights of the 2018 lineup:

  • Wed., May 23: Poison with Cheap Trick
  • Sun., May 27: James Taylor & His All Star Band with Bonnie Raitt
  • Wed., May 30: Paul Simon
  • Tues., June 5: Styx and Joan Jett and the Blackhearts
  • Thurs., June 21: Sugarland with Brandy Clark and Clare Bowen
  • Sat., June 23: I Love the 90's with Vanilla Ice, Salt-N-Pepa, Montell Jordan, Biz Markie, Rob Base and DJ Kool
  • Sun., June 24: Summer Song Festival with Jeremy Camp, Phil Wickham, Tenth Avenue North, Britt Nicole and Tauren Wells
  • Sat., July 14: Keith Urban with Kelsea Ballerini
  • Sun., July 15: Thirty Seconds to Mars / Walk the Moon with K.Flay, Welshly Arms, lovelytheband, Jukebox the Ghost, Two Feet and L.I.F.T.
  • Tues., July 31: Weezer / Pixies with Sleigh Bells
  • Sat., Aug. 4: Steve Miller Band with Peter Frampton
  • Sun., Aug. 12: Lost 80's Live with A Flock of Seagulls, Wang Chung, Naked Eyes, Men Without Hats, Animotion, Missing Persons, Dramarama, Gene Loves Jezebel & Farrington and Mann
  • Sat., Aug. 18: Slayer with Lamb Of God, Anthrax, Testament, Napalm Death
  • Fri.–Sat., Aug. 24–25: Dave Matthews Band
  • Sat., Sept., 8: Boy George & Culture Club with The B-52s and Thompson Twins' Tom Bailey

 

HUDSON GARDENS

WHEN: June–September 
Hudson Gardens is known for presenting some of the best touring artists in the world in a picturesque natural setting, and the 2017 season is shaping up to be one of the most dynamic and exciting yet! All seating is general admission, so bring a blanket or low-back chair. You can bring your own food, or visit one of the many local food trucks that will be dishing out eats during the shows.

A few highlights of the 2018 lineup:

  • Sun., June 10: Brian Setzer's Rockabilly Riot!
  • Sun., June 17: 38 Special 
  • Sun., June 24: The O'Jays
  • Tues., July 3: Super Diamond
  • Wed., July 4: Firefall
  • Sun., July 8: Tommy James & The Shondells and Herman's Hermits Starring Peter Noone
  • Sun., July 15: Sheryl Crow
  • Sun., July 22: Third Eye Blind 
  • Sun., July 29: Chris Isaak
  • Sat., Aug., 4: Little River Band
  • Sun., Aug. 5: UB40 Featuring Ali Campbell, Astro & Mickey
  • Sat., Aug 11: Kenny Loggins 
  • Sun., Aug. 12: Toto 
  • Sat., Aug. 18: Josh Turner
  • Sun., Aug. 26: Big & Rich 
  • Sun., Sept. 2: Boz Scaggs 

 

ELWAY'S CHERRY CREEK

WHEN: Wednesdays, mid June–mid August (Backyard opens at 5 p.m., music runs from 5:30–9:30 p.m.)
Head to the Backyard at Elway's Cherry Creek every Wednesday this summer for Elway's Taste & Tunes Summer Music Series. Enjoy free music from some fantastic bands (including some of the area's best tribute bands), cocktails, the restaurant's signature menu and beautiful Colorado evenings. Bands play from 7 to 9:30 p.m.

A few highlights of the 2018 lineup:

  • Wed., June 13: The Tripping Griswolds
  • Wed., June 20: Funkiphino 
  • Wed., June 27: The Samples
  • Wed., July 11: The Railbenders
  • Wed., July 18: Swerve
  • Wed., July 25: The Long Run
  • Wed., Aug. 1: Under a Blood Red Sky
  • Wed., Aug. 8: Deja Blu Dance Band
  • Wed., Aug. 15: The Eighties Band

COMMONS PARK

WHEN: Select Sundays, June–September
On a few special Sundays this summer, join Swallow Hill Music at Commons Park, along the South Platte River at the edge of downtown Denver, for an evening of tunes by indie artists performing from 6 to 8:30 p.m.

A few highlights of the 2018 lineup:

  • Sun., June 3: Blue Canyon Boys
  • Sun., June 17: Grown Ass Man Band
  • Sun., July 1: The Currys 
  • Sun., July 15: Alan Bibey & Grasstowne
  • Sun., Aug. 5: Half Pint & The Growlers
  • Sun., Aug. 19: Mama Magnolia

FOUR MILE HISTORIC PARK

WHEN: Wednesday Evenings, June–August
Pack up some picnic provisions (and your family) and bring them to the Shady Grove Picnic Series at Four Mile Historic Park on Wednesday evenings for shows that begin at 6:30 p.m. (doors 6 p.m.). This summer tradition has been going on for almost two decades!

A few highlights of the 2018 lineup:

  • Wed., June 6: A Hawk and a Hacksaw
  • Wed., June 13: Clay Kirkland and Al Chesis & the Delta Sonics
  • Wed., June 20: Shakedown Street
  • Wed., June 27: Dexter Payne Quintet
  • Wed., July 11: Color
  • Wed., July 18: Bryan Bowers w/ Martin Gilmore
  • Wed., July 25: Harry Tuft
  • Wed., Aug., 1: The River Arkansas
  • Wed., Aug., 8: Ricky Earl Band feat. Cherise
  • Wed., Aug., 15: Rocky Mountain Jewgrass
  • Wed., Aug., 22: Felonious Smith Trio

CLYFFORD STILL MUSEUM

WHEN: Friday Evenings, June–September
Fridays at 5:30 p.m., art and music lovers gather in the forecourt of the Clyfford Still Museum for live concerts, with the contemporary architecture of the art museum as backdrop.

A few highlights of the 2018 lineup:

  • Fri., June 29: Chimney Choir
  • Fri., July 27: Red Baraat
  • Fri., Aug. 17: Dustbowl Revival
  • Fri., Sept. 7: Kyle Emerson