James has long been active in the hotel and leisure industry, representing some of the largest companies in the hospitality, golf and skiing industries, and has been cited on numerous occasions as one of the leading lawyers in Colorado on hotel and leisure matters. He is excited to bring his industry background to the leadership role at VISIT DENVER. “I am looking forward to continuing the legacy of strong, committed leadership at the Bureau and following up on the successes that Denver’s tourism industry has enjoyed in the past few years,” James said.

VISIT DENVER is a private, non-profit trade association with 1,200 business members that has a contract with the City & County of Denver and is charged with marketing metro Denver as a convention and leisure destination. Tourism is Denver’s second largest industry and had its best year in 2010 with some 12.7 million overnight visitors spending $3 billion. The tourism industry supports 50,000 jobs in metro Denver. The board provides direction for VISIT DENVER’s full time staff of 60 professionals and 100 part-time employees.

Joining James on the Bureau’s 2012 executive committee are: chair-elect Craig Piper, president & CEO of the Denver Zoo; secretary Bruce Alexander, president & CEO, Vectra Bank; and treasurer Tony DeNovellis, president & CEO, AAA Colorado.


Four new board members have joined the 38-member Board of Directors of VISIT DENVER, The Convention & Visitors Bureau. Joining the board for the first time are: George Sparks, president & CEO, Denver Museum of Nature & Science; David Corsun, director & associate professor, Fritz Knoebel School of Hospitality Management, University of Denver; and John F. Kennedy, managing director, THOR Travel Services. Sen. Brandon Shaffer, Colorado State Senator; and Rep. Frank McNulty, Speaker of the House, Colorado House of Representatives will join the board as ex-officio members. Reappointed for another two-year term on the board are: Bruce Alexander, Vectra Bank; Ross Alexander, Veolia Transportation on Demand; Scott Bemis, Denver Business Journal;  Mike Benson, Kroenke Sports; Ed Bucholtz, Hyatt Regency Denver at the Colorado Convention Center; Tom Curley, Starwood Hotels & Resorts; Tony DeNovellis, AAA Colorado; Larry DiPasquale, Epicurean Culinary Group; Joe Ellis, Denver Broncos Football Club;  Lori Fox, United Airlines; Nick LeMasters, Cherry Creek Shopping Center; and Cindy Parsons, Comcast.