Academy Award winner Clint Eastwood will be among several notable Americans to receive awards from the Congressional Medal of Honor Society at its convention in September.  

The Society is comprised of recipients of our nation’s highest award for valor in combat – the Medal of Honor.

Eastwood is schedule to accept the Bob Hope Award for Excellence in Entertainment during the Society’s annual Patriot Award Gala on Friday, September 19, 2008.  This award is presented to Americans who have favorably portrayed the United States military, either in film or literature, and who have a distinguished themselves in the entertainment world.

Eastwood, the award-winning actor/director/producer, most recently earned multiple awards and award nominations for his acclaimed World War II drama, “Letters from Iwo Jima.” In 2005, Mr. Eastwood received the Academy Awards for Best Picture and Best Director for “Million Dollar Baby.” His notable career has spanned 6 decades and includes such works as Academy Award winning films, “Mystic River” and “Unforgiven.”

In addition, he has earned many other lifetime career achievement awards including honors from the Directors Guild of America, the Producers Guild of America, the Screen Actors Guild, the American Film Institute and the Film Society of Lincoln Center, the French Film Society, the National Board of Review, the Henry Mancini Institute, and the Hamburg Film Festival. He is also the recipient of a Kennedy Center Honor, awards from the American Cinema Editors and the Publicists’ Guild, received an honorary doctorate in fine arts from Wesleyan University, and is a five-time winner of Favorite Motion Picture Actor from the People’s Choice Awards.

About the Medal of Honor Society Awards

Nearly 40 years ago, the Congressional Medal of Honor Society created The Patriot Award to honor individuals who exemplify patriotism and altruism.  This honor has been bestowed on notable Americans, including former President George H.W. Bush, President Ronald W. Reagan, and William Coors of Denver.

In addition to the Bob Hope Award for Entertainment, the Society has instituted two other awards that are presented during the ceremony:

For Excellence in Journalism, an award is presented in the name of John Reagan “Tex” McCrary for outstanding career achievement.

The Distinguished Citizenship Award pays tribute to individuals who have made significant contributions to their communities and to their fellow man and our nation.

About the 2008 Congressional Medal of Honor Convention

The convention is held annually in different cities throughout the nation. The 2008 convention will take place in Denver, Colorado, Sept. 16-20, 2008, with various activities and events.  At least five living recipients have Colorado ties.

About the Medal of Honor

Established by an act of Congress in 1862, the Medal of Honor is the highest award for valor in action bestowed upon a member of the U.S. Armed Forces. Of the 3,448 recipients awarded the Medal of Honor, only 103 are alive today. These esteemed honorees represent all races, social classes, educational and economic strata and are emblematic of America’s ideals of courage, sacrifice, and patriotism. Awarded by Congress and usually presented by the President in a White House ceremony, the Medal of Honor is without equal. It stands above all others in prestige and reverence.

Tickets for the Patriot Award Gala, “A Celebration of Valor,” are $250 per person. Tickets are limited. To purchase tickets, visit

For more information, visit

Contact:          Jan Baker                    720.277.1628    

Nick Del Calzo           303.986.1919