A Classical Christmas Conducted by Brett Mitchell

Dec 7, 2018 - Dec 8, 2018


A new tradition begins as your Colorado Symphony debuts A Classical Christmas, blending traditional and classical holiday arrangements in an unforgettable performance. Featuring vocal soloists Anna Christy and Andrew Garland, and the Colorado Symphony Chorus, this new program includes holiday-themed music from Handel arranged by Mozart, Holst, Barber, Berlioz, and more. Finzi’s In Terra Pax: Christmas Scene is a magnificent retelling of the nativity story while Bass’ Gloria offers an electrifying conclusion to this holiday kick-off spectacular. 

Brett Mitchell, conductor
Anna Christy, soprano
Andrew Garland, baritone
Colorado Symphony Chorus, Duain Wolfe, director

ARNOLD (arr. Palmer) The Holly and the Ivy (Fantasy on Christmas Carols)
HOLST Christmas Day
BARBER Die Natali: Chorale Preludes for Christmas
BERLIOZ "The Shepherds' Farewell" from L'enfance du Christ
HANDEL (arr. Mozart) "Hallelujah" from Messiah
TRADITIONAL (arr. Jackfert) I Saw Three Ships
ADAM (Arr. Jackfert) O Holy Night
HOPKINS (arr. Jackfert) We Three Kings
FINZI In Terra Pax: Christmas Scene
BASS Gloria