Colorado Music Festival - Olga Kern Plays Rachmaninoff

Jun 29, 2017

Conductor: Jean-Marie Zeitouni | Guest Artist: Olga Kern, piano | CMF Orchestra

Colorado Music Festival’s 40th Anniversary Season starts in high gear with the return of the “immensely talented” (Washington Post) pianist Olga Kern to perform music by her countrymen— Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 1 and Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a theme of Paganini. The orchestra rounds out this evening of Russian music with Shostakovich’s Festive Overture and Rachmaninoff’s romantic Second Symphony.

Shostakovich: Festive Overture, op. 96
Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.1 in D-flat major, op. 10
Rachmaninoff: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, op. 43
Rachmaninoff: Symphony No.2 in E minor, op. 27