Mozart Symphony No. 40

Nov 8, 2019 - Nov 10, 2019


Douglas Boyd, conductor
Jeffrey Kahane, piano

BRAHMS Tragic Overture in D minor, Op. 81
MOZART Piano Concerto No. 17 in G major, K. 453
MOZART Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K. 550

Esteemed former Colorado Symphony Music Director Jeffrey Kahane returns alongside the ensemble’s former Principal Guest Conductor, Douglas Boyd, for a program brimming with emotion beginning with Brahms’ uncompromisingly serious Tragic Overture. Kahane, lauded for his exquisite piano work and a legacy of leadership at the Colorado Symphony, lends his virtuosity to Mozart’s elegant Piano Concerto No. 17. Finally, Mozart’s iconic Symphony No. 40 showcases the legendary composer during a time of extraordinary turbulence and passion where he was nonetheless able to craft some of the most recognizable melodies of all time.