Opening Weekend: Mendelssohn Violin Concerto featuring Yumi Hwang-Williams

Sep 20, 2019 - Sep 22, 2019


Brett Mitchell, conductor
Yumi Hwang-Williams, violin

ANNA CLYNE Masquerade
MENDELSSOHN Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
RACHMANINOFF Symphonic Dances, Op. 45

Brett Mitchell commemorates the opening of his third season as music director with a program worthy of celebration. To honor her 20th season as Concertmaster, Yumi Hwang-Williams showcases her exceptional lyricism and agility as featured soloist on Mendelssohn’s revered Violin Concerto. Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances — the composer’s last major orchestral work — serves as a fitting summation of his career, filled with autobiographical echoes audiences will recognize from many of his previous compositions. GRAMMY®-nominated composer Anna Clyne’s bright, optimistic Masquerade evokes the essence of celebration as it explores the courtship between music and dance — a fitting and fanciful frolic to usher in the Colorado Symphony’s Classics season.