Oct 20, 2017 - Oct 22, 2017

Andrew Litton, conductor
Justin Bartels, trumpet

STRAVINSKY Symphony in Three Movements
JOHN WILLIAMS Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra
STRAVINSKY Suite from The Firebird (1945 revision)

Igor Stravinsky and John Williams are two composers who deftly use symphonic music as dramatic tellings of audacious adventures. Stravinsky is featured twice, notably with the avant-garde and iconic Firebird, which modernized the telling of symphonic love stories with the folkloric saga of love-struck Russian Prince Ivan.

Principal Trumpet Justin Bartels debuts the Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra by John Williams, who is best known for his riveting film scores in Harry Potter™, Star Wars™, Indiana Jones™, and other hit film series.