Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto

Nov 22, 2019 - Nov 24, 2019


Brett Mitchell, conductor
Angelo Xiang Yu, violin

VERDI Overture to La forza del destino
JENNIFER HIGDON Concerto for Orchestra
TCHAIKOVSKY Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35

Music Director Brett Mitchell and your Colorado Symphony are joined by Angelo Xiang Yu, for his highly-anticipated return to Denver as featured soloist on Tchaikovsky’s colorful Violin Concerto — a piece initially considered so difficult to perform that the premiere was delayed after Tchaikovsky’s first two soloists declined the invitation. The program begins with one of Verdi’s finest symphonic introductions, incorporating the “Fate” motif that plays such a large role in La forza del destino, while Jennifer Higdon’s Concerto for Orchestra concludes the affair with an ever-changing instrumental panoply complete with a percussion-only fourth movement that will leave you spellbound.