Book

Summertime in Denver is all about the outdoors. Denverites spend these months making the most of the plentiful sunshine and copious fresh air — hiking, biking and enjoying a host of live music extravaganzas.

RED ROCKS SUMMER CONCERT SERIES 

WHEN: June–September
No summer in Denver is complete without at least one — or two, or five — trips to the awe-inspiring Red Rocks Amphitheatre, just 15 miles from downtown Denver. More than 70 million years in the making, the 9,450-seat venue is flanked by enormous 300-foot red sandstone rock formations and always boasts a star-studded musical schedule.

A few highlights of the 2017 lineup:

  • Wed., July 12: Ween
  • Thurs., July 13: Michael Franti & Spearhead with Trevor Hall and Hirie
  • Mon., July 24: Lyle Lovett and His Large Band
  • Sat. and Sun., July 29 and 30: Tedeschi Trucks Band with The Wood Brothers and Hot Tuna
  • Wed., Aug. 2: The Head and the Heart with Grouplove
  • Sun., Aug. 13: moe. / Twiddle with Pigeons Playing Ping Pong
  • Mon. and Tues., Aug. 21 and 22: Sam Hunt with Maren Morris, Chris Janson and Ryan Follese
  • Mon., Aug. 28: Nathaniel Rateliff and the Night Sweats
  • Mon., Sept. 4: Foreigner with Cheap Trick
  • Mon., Sept. 18: Muse with Thirty Seconds to Mars and PVRIS

 

PEPSI CENTER CONCERTS

WHEN: Year-round
Rock, pop and country's biggest stars often make a stop at Pepsi Center — a major sports arena that's right in the heart of the city. When the center isn't hosting basketball's Denver Nuggets, hockey's Colorado Avalanche or lacrosse's Colorado Mammoth, you can catch killer music acts here year round.

A few highlights of the summer 2017 lineup:

  • Sat., July 15: Brad Paisley
  • Wed., July 19: John Mayer
  • Fri., July 21: Neil Diamond
  • Tues., Aug. 15: Ed Sheeran
  • Fri., Aug. 25: Depeche Mode

 

SPORTS AUTHORITY FIELD AT MILE HIGH CONCERTS

WHEN: June–August, select dates
In town during summer but still want to get a peek at the Denver Broncos' famed home stadium? A summer concert at Sports Authority Field at Mile High might be just the ticket. Big-name acts take to the open-air stage as music carries on the Colorado breeze above the storied gridiron for a concert experience you won't forget.

Summer 2017 concert lineup:

  • Wed., Aug. 2: Guns N' Roses
  • Sat., Aug. 12: Justin Bieber

 

CITY PARK JAZZ

WHEN: June–early August, Sun., 6–8 p.m.
The City Park Bandstand and Pavilion turns into a swinging, open-air jazz club, as music lovers of all ages congregate for City Park Jazz. Bring a blanket or folding chair—but be prepared to spend plenty of time on your feet, too. City Park Jazz encourages dancing. Best of all, these concerts are free.

Summer 2017 concert lineup:

  • Sun., July 16: Judge Roughneck
  • Sun., July 23: Los Bohemios
  • Sun., July 30: JoFoKe
  • Sun., Aug. 6: Alpha Schoolmarm Orchestra

 

ELWAY'S TASTE & TUNES SUMMER MUSIC SERIES

WHEN: Wednesdays, mid June–mid August (Backyard opens at 5 p.m., music runs from 5:30–9:30 p.m.)
Head to the Backyard at Elway's Cherry Creek every Wednesday this summer for Elway's Summer Music Series. Enjoy free music from some fantastic bands (including some of the area's best tribute bands), cocktails, the restaurant's signature menu and beautiful Colorado evenings. DJ Tanner spins from 5:30–7 p.m. and bands play 7–9:30 p.m.

Summer 2017 concert lineup:

  • Wed., July 12: Ryan Chrys & The Rough Cuts (Outlaw Country)
  • Wed., July 19: Under a Blood Red Sky (U2 Tribute Band)
  • Wed., July 26: Loving the Alien (Bowie Tribute)
  • Wed., Aug. 2: That Eighties Band (80s Tribute Band)
  • Wed., Aug. 9: The Long Run (Eagles Tribute Band)
  • Wed., Aug. 16: The Railbenders (Hard Country)

 

ELITCH GARDENS THEME & WATER PARK SUMMER CONCERTS

WHEN: June–August
Elitch Gardens Theme & Water Park is not only a great, family-friendly attraction with roller coasters, water slides and more — it also offers an excellent concert series. All concerts are free with admission to the park. 

Summer 2017 lineup:

  • Sat., July 22: Jacob Sartorius
  • Sat., July 29: Vince Neil
  • Sat., Aug. 5: Citizen Cope
  • Sun., Aug. 6: La Maquinaria Nortena
  • Sat., Aug. 12: Forever In Your Mind

 

DENVER BOTANIC GARDENS SUMMER CONCERT SERIES

WHEN: June–September
Denver Botanic Gardens is a lush oasis located in the heart of The Mile High City, with hundreds of rare and lovely species of plants populating the grounds. But it's also home to a stellar summer concert series. The lawns surrounding the stage are general admission, so bring a blanket or lawn chair along with a bottle of wine and a picnic dinner and enjoy the great music in an unparalleled setting. Word to the wise: virtually all Botanic Gardens concerts sell out — so get your tickets early! 

Here is a sampling of the 2017 lineup:

  • Wed., July 12: Natalie Merchant
  • Wed., July 19: Mary Chapin Carpenter and Sarah Jarosz
  • Tues., Aug. 1: Stephen Stills & Judy Collins
  • Thurs., Aug. 10: José González

 

HUDSON GARDENS SUMMER CONCERT SERIES

WHEN: Sundays, June–September 
Hudson Gardens is known for presenting some of the best touring artists in the world in a picturesque natural setting, and the 2017 season is shaping up to be one of the most dynamic and exciting yet! All seating is general admission, so bring a blanket or low-back chair. You can bring your own food, or visit one of the many local food trucks that will be dishing out eats during the shows.

Summer 2017 concert lineup:

  • Tues., July 18: Donny & Marie
  • Sun., July 23: Gladys Knight
  • Fri., July 28: Chris Isaak
  • Sun., July 30: Creedence Clearwater Revisited
  • Sun., Aug. 6: Lynyrd Skynyrd
  • Sun., Aug. 13: Los Lobos & Los Lonely Boys
  • Sat., Aug. 19: Joan Jett and the Blackhearts
  • Sun., Aug. 20: Kool & The Gang
  • Sun., Aug. 27: The B-52s
  • Sun., Sept. 3: YES Featuring Anderson, Rabin, Wakeman

 

FIDDLER'S GREEN AMPHITHEATRE SUMMER CONCERTS

WHEN: June–September
Grab a blanket and take a seat on the lawn or buy a reserved seat at this beautiful venue just south of Denver in Greenwood Village. Fiddler's Green Amphitheatre has a variety of acts coming up this spring and summer.

A few highlights of the 2017 lineup:

  • Thurs. July 13: Jack Johnson
  • Sun., July 16: Blondie and Garbage with John Doe and Exene Cervenka
  • Wed., Aug. 9: Green Day with Catfish and The Bottlemen
  • Fri., Aug. 18: An Evening with Idina Menzel
  • Fri., Aug. 25; Sat., Aug. 26 and Sun., Aug. 27: The Lumineers
  • Sat., Sept. 2: Dierks Bentley with Cole Swindell and Jon Pardi 
  • Sat., Sept. 9: OneRepublic with Fitz & The Tantrums and James Arthur

 

LEVITT PAVILION

WHEN: July–August 2017
The Levitt Pavilion is a new, state-of-the-art amphitheater in Ruby Hill Park that was created as a gift to the community. This outdoor venue plans to host a slew of free concerts every summer, and a few ticketed events, too. Bring a blanket and a picnic, kick back on the lawn and enjoy artists from a wide range of genres.

Summer 2017 lineup:

  • Thurs., July 20: Slim Cessna's Auto Club with Halden Wofford & the Hi Beams and Andy Thomas' Dust Heart
  • Fri., July 21: UB40 Legends Ali, Astro & Mickey with Matisyahu and Raging Fyah (ticketed event)
  • Sun., July 23: The Stone Foxes with The Outfit
  • Thurs., July 27: Whiskey Shivers
  • Fri., July 28: Garrett Lebeau
  • Sun., July 30: Making Movies
  • Thurs., Aug. 3: The Suffers with The Other Black
  • Fri., Aug. 4: John Fullbright with The Drunken Hearts
  • Wed., Aug. 9: Hippo Campus
  • Thurs., Aug. 10: The Dustbowl Revival
  • Fri., Aug. 11: 311 with New Politics and The Plates (ticketed event)
  • Sun., Aug. 13: The Band of Heathens
  • Thurs., Aug. 24: Gaby Moreno

 

Dick's Sporting Goods Park

WHEN: September 1–3, 2017
This Labor Day weekend concert series has been an annual tradition since 2011. Join Phish and fans at Dick's Sporting Goods Park for three nights of outdoor jams, dancing and an end-of-summer celebration. 

Swallow Hill Music at Commons Park

WHEN: Select Sundays, July–September 2017

On a few special Sundays this summer, head to Commons Park, along the South Platte River at the edge of downtown Denver, for an evening of tunes by indie artists performing from 6 to 8:30 p.m.

Summer 2017 lineup:

  • Sun., Aug. 6: Bonnie & the Clydes
  • Sun., Sep. 3: Tallgrass

 
Shady Grove Picnic Series

WHEN: Wednesday Evenings, June 8–Aug. 17

Pack up some picnic provisions (and your family) and bring them to Four Mile Historic Park on Wednesday evenings for shows that begin at 6:30 p.m. (doors 6 p.m.). This summer tradition has been going on for almost two decades!

Summer 2017 lineup:

  • Wed., July 19: Perpetual Motion
  • Wed., July 26: The River Arkansas
  • Wed., Aug. 2: Rocky Mountain Jewgrass
  • Wed., Aug. 9: The Deltaz
  • Wed., Aug. 16: La Pomp Jazz Featuring Sweet B
  • Wed., Aug. 23: Atomga

 

Clyfford Still Museum Friday Outdoor Concerts

Friday at 5:30 p.m., art and music lovers gather in the forecourt of the Clyfford Still Museum for live concerts, with the contemporary architecture of the art museum as backdrop.

Summer 2017 lineup:

  • Fri., Aug. 4: Davina and the Vagabonds
  • Fri., Sept. 8: Juno What?!